Collage painting

In her collage paintings Mareike Felsch playfully and humorously combines a variety of habitats with bizarre inhabitants. Apparent opposites engage with each other here in peaceful coexistence. There are hints of pop art and surrealism in her style. With confident self-irony, it walks a narrow tightrope between art and kitsch.


She has recently produced a little series with photographs: beauties of the 1920s bathing and basking in the sunshine. Clearly, ideals of beauty can change over time, and nothing is eternally valid, anything can be beautiful. Besides, there is a lightness about this theme that was evidently just right for the artist this summer. Mareike Felsch has always felt a powerful need to create and share beauty, as an antidote and welcome break from the real world.

She began by working primarily with serviettes and acrylic, but now the focus is on frottage, monotype and above all historical illustrations and photographs. With acrylic, oil, ink and colour pigments, fragments are worked into a composition with a great sense of depth.

Collagenmalerei

Mareike Felsch verbindet in ihrer Collagenmalerei auf spielerische und humorvolle Art verschiedene Lebensräume mit skurrilen Bewohnern. Scheinbare Gegensätze gehen eine friedliche Koexistenz ein. Ihr Stil hat Anklänge von Pop Art und Surrealismus. Er bewegt sich mit seiner ironisierenden Wirkung selbstbewusst auf dem schmalen Grad zwischen Kitsch und Kunst.


Aktuell ist eine kleine Serie mit Fotografien entstanden: badende und sich sonnende Schönheiten aus den 1920er Jahren. Es wird offensichtlich, wie sehr Schönheitsideale sich doch im Laufe der Zeit wandeln können, nichts hat absolute Gültigkeit, alles kann schön sein. Zudem ist die Leichtigkeit des Themas für die Künstlerin in diesem Sommer genau das Richtige. Mareike Felsch war es schon immer ein starkes Bedürfnis etwas Schönes zu erschaffen und weiter-zugeben, als Gegenpol und wohltuende Auszeit von der realen Welt.


Anfangs arbeitete sie hauptsächlich mit Servietten und Acryl, jetzt stehen Frottage, Monotypie und vor allem historische Illustrationen und Fotografien im Mittelpunkt. Mit Acryl, Öl, Tinten und Farbpigmenten werden die einzelnen Fragmente zu einer Komposition mit starker Räumlichkeit verbunden.